Chakra Balancing Yoga: Connecting with the Energy Centres of the Subtle Body


Yoga is not only a physical practice; it is also a spiritual practice that involves connecting with the subtle body (the energetic body), which includes the Chakra System. Chakra balancing Yoga sequences are some of our favourites, we’ve shared many Chakra specific classes within our MerryBody App plus we have a whole module on Chakras within our 200 hour Yoga Teacher Training. We love learning more about this subject, if you feel the same, keep reading!

Chakras are energy centres that are located along the spine, from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. Each chakra corresponds to different physical, emotional, and spiritual aspects of your being. When your Chakras are balanced, you feel a sense of harmony and wellbeing. However, when your Chakras are blocked or out of balance, you may experience physical or emotional symptoms.

One way to balance the Chakras is through a Balancing Chakra Yoga practice. Chakra Yoga is a type of Yoga practice that focuses on the Chakra system, using specific poses and breathing techniques to stimulate and balance the energy centres.

The best way to learn more is to explore and learn more about each Chakra and the specific Yoga Poses that help balance each Chakra.

Chakra Balancing Yoga: Connecting with the Energy Centres of the Subtle Body

If you’d like to go into further depth about each Chakra, download our free Chakra eBook over here!

The Root Chakra: Connecting to the Earth

The Root or Base Chakra, in Sanskrit Muladhara Chakra is located at the base of the spine and is associated with your sense of safety, security, and grounding. To balance the root chakra, you need to connect with the earth and feel grounded. One way to do this is through poses that involve grounding and stability, such as Mountain Pose (below) or Tree Pose. 


The Sacral Chakra: Feeling the Creativity Flow

The Sacral Chakra, in Sanskrit Svadisthana Chakra is located in the lower abdomen and is associated with creativity, sensuality and emotional expression. To balance the Sacral Chakra, focus on stretching and opening the hips, you can also add gentle movement to the poses. Feel this movement and allow your energy to flow freely. Hip opening poses, such as Pigeon Pose (see below) or Bound Angle Pose, can help to release tension that may be blocking the Sacral Chakra.


The Solar Plexus Chakra: Building Confidence

The Solar Plexus Chakra, in Sanskrit Manipura Chakra is located in the upper abdomen and is associated with your sense of self-worth and personal power.

To balance the Solar Plexus Chakra, you need to build confidence and cultivate a strong sense of self. Poses that engage the core muscles, such as Boat Pose (see the full expression of this pose below) or Plank Pose, can help to strengthen the Solar Plexus Chakra. In fact, Pilates is also a great practice to focus on your Solar Plexus Chakra! Try this free class here!


The Heart Chakra: Opening the Heart Centre

The Heart Chakra, in Sanskrit Anahata Chakra is located in the centre of the chest and is associated with love, compassion, and connection. To balance the Heart Chakra, we need to open the heart centre and cultivate feelings of love and compassion. Heart-opening poses, such as Bridge Pose or Wheel Pose (below), can help to release tension and emotions that may be blocking the Heart Chakra.


The Throat Chakra: Expressing Yourself

The Throat Chakra, in Sanskrit Vishuddha Chakra is located in the throat and is associated with communication, self-expression, and authenticity. To balance the Throat Chakra, you need to express yourself and speak your truth. Poses that open the throat, such as Fish Pose (below) or Shoulder Stand, can help to stimulate the Throat Chakra and encourage self-expression. Breathwork is also a great tool to help balance and open Vishuddha Chakra.


The Third Eye Chakra: Cultivating Awareness

The Third Eye Chakra, in Sanskrit Ajna Chakra is located between the eyebrows and is associated with your intuition, insight and spiritual awareness. To balance the Third Eye Chakra, cultivate awareness and connect with your inner wisdom, meditation is a fantastic tool to help you achieve this. Poses that involve balancing, such as Tree Pose or Warrior III (below), can also help to stimulate the Third Eye Chakra and encourage inner awareness.


The Crown Chakra: Connecting to the Divine

The Crown Chakra, in Sanskrit Sahasrara Chakra is located at the top of the head and is associated with your connection to the divine or universal consciousness. To balance the Crown Chakra focus on your higher purpose, something beyond you as an individual. Poses such as supported headstand can help to stimulate and balance your Crow Chakra, if this is not in your practice try supported shoulder stand (see below, this is our preference!).


Remember this is an ancient energy system, a fascinating one! We always suggest to go into anything with a curious mind, but take what resonates and leave what doesn’t. What we love about the Chakra System is that each Chakra represents a truly important aspect of life. When these spiritual, physical and emotional attributes are out of balance… it can cause havoc in life! So working with the Chakra System, just like Yoga, can help reduce suffering in life. 

If you’d like to learn more, download our Chakra eBook over here! We go into further detail on each of the Chakras and the poses and practices that link to each. If you’ve got questions, get in touch!  

Always merrymaking,
Emma + Carla 

Ps. If you want to dive deep into the Chakras and the subtle body, the next step is to look into a Yoga Teacher Course. Yes these courses give you the ability to teach and share your love of Yoga but they also give you in-depth learning of the Chakras. In our course, the amazing Andrew Mournehis takes you through Yoga Philosophy and History. It’s completely amazing, dare we say it… transformational! Learn more here! 


Scroll to Top